Chance Fortune and the Outlaws

Chance Fortune and the Outlaws

Author: Shane Berryhill

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN: 9781429992091

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 272

View: 430

For as long as he can remember, fourteen-year-old Joshua Blevins has wanted to be a superhero. He has the brains, the passion, and the heart. There's only one problem: he doesn't have any superpowers. But Josh isn't about to let that stop him. Determined not to give up on his dream, Josh enlists the aid of his mentor, Captain Fearless, a retired costumed adventurer, to gain entrance to the Burlington Academy for the Superhuman under the false identity of Chance Fortune—a superhuman with the power of having unnaturally good luck. Masquerading as Chance, Josh rises among the ranks of his fellow students at the Academy, eventually becoming the leader of his own combat team, the Outlaws. Together, Chance and his teammates Psy-Chick, Shocker, Gothika, Space Cadet, Iron Maiden, and Private Justice make new friends, battle new enemies, and ultimately find themselves caught up in a struggle for the fate of the universe. Can Chance and the Outlaws save the universe—AND survive their freshman year? At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Chance Fortune in the Shadow Zone

Chance Fortune in the Shadow Zone

Author: Shane Berryhill

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN: 9781429940399

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 304

View: 369

At the end of their freshman year, Chance Fortune and the Outlaws saved the universe. Though he lacks a superpower, fifteen-year-old Chance used his natural athleticism and quick wits to form his team into an effective fighting force. The Outlaws have learned to trust and rely upon one another. As the bonds of their friendship strengthen, Chance finds it more difficult than ever to conceal his true identity. When an apparent teleportation malfunction strands the team in the Shadow Zone, the Outlaws are put to the test once more. Teeming with supervillains exiled by the Brotherhood of Heroes, the Shadow Zone is a land of nightmares brought to life. And when Psy-Chick, Gothika, Iron Maiden, and Private Justice are kidnapped by the mysterious Shadowmen, Chance knows that he must set aside his doubts in order to save them. At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Chance Fortune and the Outlaws

Chance Fortune and the Outlaws

Author: Shane Berryhill

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN: 9780765314680

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 271

View: 669

Frustrated by his complete lack of superpowers in spite of his long-standing dream of being a superhero, fourteen-year-old Joshua enlists the aid of his mentor, the retired adventurer Captain Fearless, to help him gain entrance into the Burlington Academy for the Superhuman under a false identity.

The Long Silent Night

The Long Silent Night

Author: Shane Berryhill

Publisher: Crossroad Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 384

THE LONG SILENT NIGHT: A JACK FROST MYSTERY brings together the unlikely bedfellows of film noir and fantasy to create a surprising holiday thriller sure to be enjoyed by all ages! It’s up to JACK FROST, a winter elemental and the NORTH POLE’s premiere private eye, to find his kidnapped adoptive father, SANTA CLAUS, so that the SPELL OF ETERNAL NIGHT--the spell that makes Christmas Eve last until Santa has delivered all his presents--can be lifted and time allowed to flow once more. At first, Jack suspects OLD MAN WINTER, the crime kingpin of the North Pole who also happens to be Jack’s biological father. However, when their encounter leaves Jack uncertain of Winter’s involvement, at the urging of his old friend DEE, a Halloween witch, Jack agrees to visit HOLIDAY TOWN (H-TOWN), the capital city of the HOLIDAY FOLK, to consult with the city mayor, FATHER TIME, about the case. Combining the fun of THE SANTA CLAUSE with the grit of THE MALTESE FALCON, THE LONG SILENT NIGHT: A JACK FROST MYSTERY is a hard-boiled fantasy-mystery thrill ride for parents and children alike!

THE OUTLAWS OF THE WILD WEST: 150+ Westerns in One Edition

THE OUTLAWS OF THE WILD WEST: 150+ Westerns in One Edition

Author: Zane Grey

Publisher: e-artnow

ISBN: 9788027229734

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 20431

View: 871

This carefully edited collection has been designed and formatted to the highest digital standards and adjusted for readability on all devices. Contents: Introduction Story of the Cowboy Story of the Outlaw Novels & Stories Riders of the Purple Sage Saga (Zane Grey) Ohio River Trilogy Dan Barry Series (Max Brand) The Virginian (Owen Wister) Lin McLean Leatherstocking Series (James F. Cooper) Flying U Series (B. M. Bower) Cabin Fever Rimrock Trail (J. Allan Dunn) Breckinridge Elkins Series (Robert E. Howard) In a Hollow of the Hills (Bret Harte) Roughing It (Mark Twain) Outcasts of Poker Flat Call of the Wild (Jack London) Heart of the West (O. Henry) White Fang Wolf Hunters (James Oliver Curwood) Gold Hunters Last of the Plainsmen Border Legion Smoke Bellew Country Beyond Lone Star Ranger Ronicky Doone Trilogy Riders of the Silences Three Partners Man of the Forest Lure of the Dim Trails Tennessee's Partner Covered Wagon (Emerson Hough) Luck of Roaring Camp Rustlers of Pecos County Pike Bearfield Series O Pioneers! (Willa Cather) My Ántonia Log of a Cowboy (Andy Adams) Two-Gun Man (Charles Alden Seltzer) Short Cut (Jackson Gregory) Astoria (Washington Irving) Ungava (R.M. Ballantyne) Valley of Silent Men Black Jack Whispering Smith (Frank H. Spearman) A Texas Cow Boy (Charles Siringo) Trail Horde Golden Dream (Ballantyne) Blue Hotel (Stephen Crane) Long Shadow Girl from Montana (Grace Livingston Hill) Hidden Children (Robert W. Chambers) Where the Trail Divides Desert Trail (Dane Coolidge) Bride Comes to Yellow Sky Hidden Water…

The Boogeyman: A Monstrous Fairytale

The Boogeyman: A Monstrous Fairytale

Author: Shane Berryhill

Publisher: Crossroad Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 862

Everything you think you know about the Boogeyman is wrong! This is what a thirteen-year-old boy nicknamed “Puck” learns when he follows the Boogeyman through his closet into the realm of Fairy. Puck discovers the Boogeyman is not an evil "boogey" at all, but rather a "boogey hunter" whose duty it is to track and bring home monstrous fairies who have strayed into the Mortal World. As yet unaware of the Boogeyman's true nature, Puck mistakenly frees a shape-shifting changeling from the Boogeyman's lair. Their quest to re-capture the rogue fairy leads Puck and the Boogeyman on a world-hopping chase that ultimately sees both Fairy and the Mortal World embroiled in an all-out war—one that only Puck, the Boogeyman, and their allies can hope to stop. Fans of both RL Stine’s Goosebumps and JK Rowling’s Harry Potter series will find scares, magic, and adventure aplenty within pages of THE BOOGEYMAN—a monstrous fairytale written by Shane Berryhill, author of Chance Fortune and the Outlaws.

Read It Forward

Read It Forward

Author: Linda Kay

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN: 9781598848090

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 120

View: 401

With this practical guide, it's easy to implement the proven fun—and learning—of a read-it-forward program in your middle school library. Teens recommend books to other teens, offering a surefire way to promote books and reading. • An easy-to-follow process for creating an RIF program in any middle school • Testimonials from those who have initiated and run RIF projects • Specific examples of what works and what doesn't • Resource lists from which librarians can draw in creating their own programs • Offers librarians step-by-step guidance in running a read-it-forward project in which students are encouraged to read books then pass them on to others • Shows how RIF encourages interest in reading for middle school students during a period when they often stop reading for recreation • Discusses how RIF can provide a focus for library programming throughout the school year, connecting it to academics • Demonstrates ways to get students excited about reading by connecting it to the curriculum they are studying

Chance Fortune Out of Time

Chance Fortune Out of Time

Author: Shane Berryhill

Publisher:

ISBN: 1941408249

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 200

View: 607

Time-travelers, steampunk robots, dinosaurs, Martian invaders, superheroes, and adventures beyond imagining await you in Chance Fortune Out of Time, the latest volume in a series praised by Publishers Weekly, VOYA, Young Adult Books Central, and many others. The secret is out: alleged superhuman Chance Fortune is only a normal boy named Josh Blevins. Will his friends and teammates, the Outlaws, band together and accept Josh for who he is so that the future may be saved? Or will old prejudices divide and conquer, robbing Josh, the Outlaws, and the world at large of a chance for a better tomorrow? Find out in Chance Fortune Out of Time, the long-awaited sequel to Chance Fortune and the Outlaws and Chance Fortune in the Shadow Zone.

Chance Fortune in the Shadow Zone

Chance Fortune in the Shadow Zone

Author: Shane Berryhill

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN: 076531469X

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 310

View: 111

Having saved the universe at the end of their freshman year, Chance Fortune and his super-power Outlaw companions are stranded in the Shadow Zone by a bizarre accident, where their survival is tested by exiled super-villains and the truth about Chance's identity. 12,500 first printing.