Reflections on a Dying Life

Reflections on a Dying Life

Author: Donald X. Burt

Publisher: Liturgical Press

ISBN: 0814630170

Category: Religion

Page: 194

View: 867

"An eminently accessible and deeply pastoral book of Christian eschatology. The author uses his masterful knowledge of St. Augustine's writings to create a classically Catholic spirituality of aging, integrting a deep faith with his disciplined reason, he gently, lovingly sculpts an Augustinian spirituality of death and resurrection." [Back cover].

Delphi Collected Works of M. E. Braddon (Illustrated)

Delphi Collected Works of M. E. Braddon (Illustrated)

Author: Mary Elizabeth Braddon

Publisher: Delphi Classics


Category: Fiction

Page: 6485

View: 778

Since the first publication of her groundbreaking sensation novel 'Lady Audley's Secret' in 1862, M. E. Braddon's works have gripped the imagination of readers across the world for over one hundred and fifty years. This comprehensive eBook presents the many diverse works of M. E. Braddon, with numerous illustrations, rare texts appearing in digital print for the first time, informative introductions and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 2) * Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Braddon's life and works * Concise introductions to the novels and other texts * 27 novels, with individual contents tables * Rare novels appearing here for the first time, including Braddon's first novel, last novel and her supernatural masterpiece GERARD, OR THE WORLD, THE FLESH AND THE DEVIL * Images of how the books were first printed, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts * Excellent formatting of the texts * The children's book THE CHRISTMAS HIRELINGS is also included, with all of the original festive illustrations * Braddon's first collection of short stories RALPH THE BAILIFF AND OTHER TALES, featuring many of the author's seminal tales — available in no other collection * Special chronological and alphabetical contents tables for the short stories * Easily locate the short stories you want to read * Includes one of Braddon's scarce plays * Features a memoir by the author, concerning the composition of her first novel * Ordering of texts into chronological order and literary genres * UPDATED with 5 more novels and improved texts CONTENTS: The Novels Three Times Dead (1860) Lady Audley’s Secret (1862) Captain of the Vulture (1863) Aurora Floyd (1863) John Marchmont’s Legacy (1863) The Doctor’s Wife (1864) Henry Dunbar (1864) Birds of Prey (1867) Charlotte’s Inheritance (1868) Run to Earth (1868) Fenton’s Quest (1871) The Lovels of Arden (1872) A Strange World (1875) The Cloven Foot (1879) Vixen (1879) Mount Royal (1882) Phantom Fortune (1883) The Golden Calf (1883) Wyllard’s Weird (1885) Mohawks (1886) Gerard (1891) All along the River (1893) London Pride (1896) His Darling Sin (1899) The Infidel (1900) Beyond These Voices (1910) Mary (1916) The Children’s Book The Christmas Hirelings (1894) The Shorter Fiction Ralph the Bailiff and Other Tales (1862) Milly Darrell (1873) Flower and Weed, and Other Tales (1884) The Short Stories List of Short Stories in Chronological Order List of Short Stories in Alphabetical Order The Play Marjorie Daw (1885) The Memoir My First Novel: ‘The Trail of the Serpent’ (1897) Please visit to browse through our range of exciting titles

Acts of Forgiveness

Acts of Forgiveness

Author: Ted Karpf

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN: 9781476679594

Category: Social Science

Page: 233

View: 681

In 1980s America, coming out as gay as a father and husband was a significant journey for anyone to make. Coming out as gay as a priest guaranteed immersion into controversy, contradiction, and challenge. This book tells of the Reverend Canon Ted Karpf's navigation of new social and romantic journeys, all within the context of his priestly vocation in the Episcopal Church. Covering from 1968 to 2018, Karpf recounts his vivid memories, life-changing dreams and resonant reflections on living a life of faith in a socially and politically tumultuous period. His narratives are crafted as poetic meditations on enduring values and meaning, which can remind any reader that we are neither abandoned nor alone, and that forgiveness is a fulfilling way of living in a world of contradictions.

When the World Breaks Your Heart

When the World Breaks Your Heart

Author: Gregory S. Clapper

Publisher: Wipf and Stock Publishers

ISBN: 9781498273831

Category: Religion

Page: 76

View: 945

When United Airlines Flight 232 crashed in Sioux City, Iowa, in 1989, 112 people died, and 184 people survived. In this book Gregory S. Clapper, both a college professor and a chaplain in the National Guard, reflects on his ministry in the aftermath of this tragic event. Processing his chaplain experiences through the lens of his theological training, he reflects on six different resources from the Christian tradition that he saw transform people's lives during and after this tragedy.

2000 Years of Prayer

2000 Years of Prayer


Publisher: Hymns Ancient and Modern Ltd

ISBN: 1853116238

Category: Religion

Page: 672

View: 855

Containing prayers from every era of our spritual historu, from every continent and from every Christian tradition, this is book that is equally useful as a worship resource or as an inexhaustible store for personal prayer. Arranged chronologically, the selection begins with the New Testamnet period and progresses through the Apostolic Fathers, the Age of Augustine, the Orthodox Tradition, the Celtic, Anglo-Saxon and Medieval ages and through every significant phase of Christian experience to the contemporary Church throughout the world. Here are many classic prayers and many more that will be new to readers. In addition, a brief introduction to each section and to easch author, defines the spiritual characteristics of the age and traces the development of our Christian understanding of prayer through the centuries..