The National Cherry Festival in Traverse City

The National Cherry Festival in Traverse City

Author: Brooks Vanderbush

Publisher: Arcadia Publishing

ISBN: 9781625849618

Category: History

Page: 128

View: 595

The National Cherry Festival is northern Michigan's most popular event. It turns Traverse City, a beach town of thirty thousand, into a thriving city of nearly one million. Begun almost a century ago, the festival started out as a small, neighborhood affair and grew into an international phenomenon that draws in visitors from all over the globe. Twist and pop a pit of Cherry Festival history with author and Traverse City native Brooks Vanderbush as he recounts the festival's growth and its queens and courts, governing bodies, past personalities and other memorable stories that have made it such an essential part of this vacation paradise.

The Tiara on the Terrace

The Tiara on the Terrace

Author: Kristen Kittscher

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 9780062228000

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 400

View: 787

In this funny, clever novel, perfect for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch and Gordon Korman and a companion to The Wig in the Window, tween sleuths Sophie Young and Grace Yang go undercover at Luna Vista's Winter Sun Festival to catch a murderer before he—or she—strikes again. Sophie Young and Grace Yang have been taking it easy ever since they solved the biggest crime Luna Vista had ever seen. But things might get interesting again now that everyone is gearing up for the 125th annual Winter Sun Festival—a town tradition that involves floats, a parade, and a Royal Court made up of local high school girls. When Festival president Jim Steptoe turns up dead on the first day of parade preparations, the police blame a malfunctioning giant s'more feature on the campfire-themed float. But the two sleuths are convinced the mysterious death wasn't an accident. Young and Yang must trade their high tops for high heels and infiltrate the Royal Court to solve the case. But if they fail, they might just be the next victims.

The Report: Nigeria 2013

The Report: Nigeria 2013

Author: Oxford Business Group

Publisher: Oxford Business Group

ISBN: 9781907065927

Category:

Page:

View: 669

As the single most populous nation in Africa, Nigeria recently overtook South Africa as the largest economy on the continent. Natural resources, oil and gas in particular, comprise the country’s single largest revenue-earner but the 170m person economy also has seen significant activity in recent years into the industrial, financial, telecoms and – as of 2013 – power sectors. Hydrocarbons reserves have traditionally attracted the vast majority of domestic and foreign investment in Nigeria. Oil production capacity has remained at roughly 2.5m barrels per day (bpd) since the start of 2000, although output fell to 2.2m bpd on average in 2012. Still, the country has long operated below its true potential and government efforts in recent years have sought to increase local value addition, by boosting refining capacity and minimising theft and bunkering. The country’s banking sector has been through a significant shake-up as well, resulting in a far healthier and more robust financial industry, while reforms in the telecoms and agricultural sectors have strengthened medium-term prospects.

Author: Nancy Gates

Publisher: Graphic Arts Center Publishing Co.

ISBN: 9780882406053

Category:

Page: 240

View: 167

With facts and figures on geography, history, economy, cultures, and peoples of the Last Frontier, the 29th edition is packed with all-about-Alaska information for people who dream of visiting Alaska, as well as long-lasting sourdoughs.

Theatre and Festivals

Theatre and Festivals

Author: Keren Zaiontz

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 9781350315990

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 122

View: 834

This succinct and engaging text rethinks the common wisdom that festivals, sites of collective celebration and play, provide a temporary reprieve from the grind of everyday, 'real' life. Keren Zaiontz explores the ways in which cultural performances of resistance that have their basis in festivals can migrate to other contexts, making festivals as much the domain of free markets and state power as that of vanguard artists and progressive social movements. Accessible and affordable, this is an ideal resource for theatre students and lovers everywhere.

Exploring Community Festivals and Events

Exploring Community Festivals and Events

Author: Allan Jepson

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 9781317690849

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 268

View: 208

The development of the festival and event industry has seen large scale growth and extensive government support as a result of objectives to enhance and project the image of place and leverage positive sponsorship and regeneration opportunities. As we move deeper into austerity measures prompted by economic recession, community festivals and events as a sacred or profane time of celebration can be considered even more important than ever before. This book for the first time explores the role and importance of ‘community’, ‘culture’ and its impact through festivals and events. Split into two distinct sections, the first introduces key themes and concepts, contextualises local traditions and culture, and investigates how festivals and events can act as a catalyst for tourism and create a sense of community. It then questions the social and political nature of festivals and community events through examining their ownership. The second section focuses on communities themselves, seeking to examine and discuss key emerging themes in community event studies such as; the role of diaspora, imagined communities, pride and identity, history, producing and consuming space and place, authenticity, and multi-ethnic communities. Examples are drawn from Portugal, the Dominican Republic, the USA, Malaysia, Malta, Finland and Australia making this book truly international. This significant volume will be valuable reading for students and academics across the fields of Event, Tourism and Hospitality studies as well as other social science disciplines.