Summary of Thomas C. Foster's How to Read Novels Like a Professor

Summary of Thomas C. Foster's How to Read Novels Like a Professor

Author: Milkyway Media

Publisher: Milkyway Media

ISBN:

Category: Study Aids

Page:

View: 489

Buy now to get the main key ideas from Thomas C. Foster's How to Read Novels Like a Professor When novels became a thing around the seventeenth century, it was all thrilling. It wasn't possible for readers to say, “This is unoriginal, this has been done before, this is a good or bad novel.” Every novel was an innovation. As time progressed, a framework for the conventional novel emerged: a linear narrative, stories about people growing up or falling apart, compelling characters, and definite conclusions that provide emotional satisfaction. In How to Read Novels Like a Professor (2008), Thomas C. Foster dives deep into each of these elements, using his own set of laws for the novel to help readers increase their understanding. He backs up his explanations with a wealth of vivid literary examples that will make you want to read every novel he mentions.

Summary and Analysis of How to Read Literature Like a Professor

Summary and Analysis of How to Read Literature Like a Professor

Author: Worth Books

Publisher: Open Road Media

ISBN: 9781504043373

Category: Study Aids

Page: 30

View: 904

So much to read, so little time? This brief overview of How to Read Literature Like a Professor tells you what you need to know—before or after you read Thomas C. Foster’s book. Crafted and edited with care, Worth Books set the standard for quality and give you the tools you need to be a well-informed reader. This summary of How to Read Literature Like a Professor by Thomas C. Foster includes: Historical context Chapter-by-chapter overviews Important quotes Fascinating trivia A glossary of terms Supporting material to enhance your understanding of the original work About How to Read Literature Like a Professor by Thomas C. Foster: Thomas C. Foster’s How to Read Literature Like a Professor is a series of short essays that show readers how to “read between the lines” and make great books come alive. Based on Professor Foster’s years as a teacher of literature, Foster explains how authors use the English language to accomplish their goals and how we can recognize literary ideas in a wide range of works. The tools he offers can be applied to any book—from the classics to the latest blockbusters. The summary and analysis in this ebook are intended to complement your reading experience and bring you closer to a great work of nonfiction.

How to Read Novels Like a Professor

How to Read Novels Like a Professor

Author: Thomas C. Foster

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 9780061977701

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 336

View: 601

The follow-up and companion volume to the New York Times bestselling How to Read Literature Like a Professor—a lively and entertaining guide to understanding and dissecting novels to make everyday reading more enriching, satisfying, and fun Of all the literary forms, the novel is arguably the most discussed . . . and fretted over. From Miguel de Cervantes’s Don Quixote to the works of Jane Austen, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway, and today’s masters, the novel has grown with and adapted to changing societies and technologies, mixing tradition and innovation in every age throughout history. Thomas C. Foster—the sage and scholar who ingeniously led readers through the fascinating symbolic codes of great literature in his first book, How to Read Literature Like a Professor—now examines the grammar of the popular novel. Exploring how authors’ choices about structure—point of view, narrative voice, first page, chapter construction, character emblems, and narrative (dis)continuity—create meaning and a special literary language, How to Read Novels Like a Professor shares the keys to this language with readers who want to get more insight, more understanding, and more pleasure from their reading.

How to Read Literature Like a Professor: For Kids

How to Read Literature Like a Professor: For Kids

Author: Thomas C. Foster

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 9780062200877

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 176

View: 204

The go-to bestselling guide to help young people navigate from a middle school book report to English Comp 101 In How to Read Literature Like a Professor: For Kids, New York Times bestselling author and professor Thomas C. Foster gives tweens the tools they need to become thoughtful readers. With funny insights and a conversational style, he explains the way writers use symbol, metaphor, characterization, setting, plot, and other key techniques to make a story come to life. From that very first middle school book report to that first college course, kids need to be able to understand the layers of meaning in literature. Foster makes learning this important skill fun and exciting by using examples from How the Grinch Stole Christmas to The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, from short stories and poems to movie scripts. This go-to guide unlocks all the hidden secrets to reading, making it entertaining and satisfying.

How to Read Literature Like a Professor Revised

How to Read Literature Like a Professor Revised

Author: Thomas C. Foster

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 9780062344205

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 368

View: 640

A thoroughly revised and updated edition of Thomas C. Foster's classic guide—a lively and entertaining introduction to literature and literary basics, including symbols, themes, and contexts—that shows you how to make your everyday reading experience more rewarding and enjoyable. While many books can be enjoyed for their basic stories, there are often deeper literary meanings interwoven in these texts. How to Read Literature Like a Professor helps us to discover those hidden truths by looking at literature with the eyes—and the literary codes—of the ultimate professional reader: the college professor. What does it mean when a literary hero travels along a dusty road? When he hands a drink to his companion? When he's drenched in a sudden rain shower? Ranging from major themes to literary models, narrative devices, and form, Thomas C. Foster provides us with a broad overview of literature—a world where a road leads to a quest, a shared meal may signify a communion, and rain, whether cleansing or destructive, is never just a shower—and shows us how to make our reading experience more enriching, satisfying, and fun. This revised edition includes new chapters, a new preface, and a new epilogue, and incorporates updated teaching points that Foster has developed over the past decade.

How to Read Nonfiction Like a Professor

How to Read Nonfiction Like a Professor

Author: Thomas C. Foster

Publisher: Harper

ISBN: 0063008475

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 336

View: 523

The New York Times bestselling author of How to Read Literature Like a Professor uses the same skills to teach how to access accurate information in a rapidly changing 24/7 news cycle and become better readers, thinkers, and consumers of media. We live in an information age, but it is increasingly difficult to know which information to trust. Fake news is rampant in mass media, stoked by foreign powers wishing to disrupt a democratic society. We need to be more perceptive, more critical, and more judicious readers. The future of our republic may depend on it. How to Read Nonfiction Like a Professor is more careful, more attentive, more aware reading. On bookstore shelves, one book looks as authoritative as the next. Online, posts and memes don't announce their relative veracity. It is up to readers to establish how accurate, how thorough, how fair material may be. After laying out general principles of reading nonfiction, How to Read Nonfiction Like a Professor offers advice for specific reading strategies in various genres from histories and biographies to science and technology to social media. Throughout, the emphasis will be on understanding writers' biases, interrogating claims, analyzing arguments, remaining wary of broad assertions and easy answers, and thinking critically about the written and spoken materials readers encounter. We can become better citizens through better reading, and the time for that is now.

How to Read Literature Like a Professor LP

How to Read Literature Like a Professor LP

Author: Thomas C. Foster

Publisher: HarperLuxe

ISBN: 006232652X

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 496

View: 765

Thomas C. Foster's classic guide—a lively and entertaining introduction to literature and literary basics, including symbols, themes, and contexts—shows you how to make your everyday reading experience more rewarding and enjoyable. How to Read Literature Like a Professor helps readers discover the deeper meanings of novels, poems, and plays by looking at literature with the eyes—and literary codes—of the ultimate professional reader: the college professor. This revised and updated edition contains new chapters, new preface and epilogue, and updated teaching points developed over the last decade. What does it mean when a literary hero travels along a dusty road? When he's drenched in a sudden rain shower? Ranging from major themes to literary models, narrative devices, and form, Foster provides us with a broad overview of literature—a world where a road leads to a quest and rain, whether cleansing or destructive, is never just a shower—and shows us how to make our reading experience more enriching, satisfying, and fun.

Summary of How To Read Literature Like A Professor – [Review Keypoints and Take-aways]

Summary of How To Read Literature Like A Professor – [Review Keypoints and Take-aways]

Author: PenZen Summaries

Publisher: by Mocktime Publication

ISBN:

Category: Study Aids

Page: 14

View: 284

The summary of How To Read Literature Like A Professor – A Lively and Entertaining Guide to Reading Between the Lines presented here include a short review of the book at the start followed by quick overview of main points and a list of important take-aways at the end of the summary. The Summary of This introduction to literary analysis, published in 2003 and titled How to Read Literature Like a Professor, is an approachable and interesting read. These ideas provide readers with the tools they need to detect deeper meaning in any fictional text, and they do so by drawing illuminating examples from both classic and contemporary works of literature. How To Read Literature Like A Professor summary includes the key points and important takeaways from the book How To Read Literature Like A Professor by Thomas C. Foster. Disclaimer: 1. This summary is meant to preview and not to substitute the original book. 2. We recommend, for in-depth study purchase the excellent original book. 3. In this summary key points are rewritten and recreated and no part/text is directly taken or copied from original book. 4. If original author/publisher wants us to remove this summary, please contact us at [email protected]

Summary of Thomas C. Foster's How to Read Literature Like a Professor

Summary of Thomas C. Foster's How to Read Literature Like a Professor

Author: Milkyway Media

Publisher: Milkyway Media

ISBN:

Category: Study Aids

Page:

View: 451

Buy now to get the main key ideas from Thomas C. Foster's How to Read Literature Like a Professor What does it mean for a fictional hero to set off down a road? Share a meal? Get soaked in a sudden rain shower? In How to Read Literature Like a Professor (2003), Thomas C. Foster demonstrates how simple and satisfying it is to uncover the meanings and symbols in literature, and to discover a world where a road leads to a quest, a shared meal may signify a communion, and rain, whether cleansing or destructive, is never just rain in this practical and amusing guide. For everyday readers, there's always a sneaking suspicion that there's much more going on in a novel or poem than is readily visible on the surface — perhaps a symbol that remains elusive, or an unexpected twist on a character. Foster covers key themes, literary models, narrative techniques, and structure, with the goal of making your reading experience more engaging, rewarding, and entertaining.

How to Read Poetry Like a Professor

How to Read Poetry Like a Professor

Author: Thomas C. Foster

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 9780062684066

Category: Education

Page: 224

View: 459

From the bestselling author of How to Read Literature Like a Professor comes this essential primer to reading poetry like a professor that unlocks the keys to enjoying works from Lord Byron to the Beatles. No literary form is as admired and feared as poetry. Admired for its lengthy pedigree—a line of poets extending back to a time before recorded history—and a ubiquitous presence in virtually all cultures, poetry is also revered for its great beauty and the powerful emotions it evokes. But the form has also instilled trepidation in its many admirers mainly because of a lack of familiarity and knowledge. Poetry demands more from readers—intellectually, emotionally, and spiritually—than other literary forms. Most of us started out loving poetry because it filled our beloved children's books from Dr. Seuss to Robert Louis Stevenson. Eventually, our reading shifted to prose and later when we encountered poetry again, we had no recent experience to make it feel familiar. But reading poetry doesn’t need to be so overwhelming. In an entertaining and engaging voice, Thomas C. Foster shows readers how to overcome their fear of poetry and learn to enjoy it once more. From classic poets such as Shakespeare, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, and Edna St. Vincent Millay to later poets such as E.E. Cummings, Billy Collins, and Seamus Heaney, How to Read Poetry Like a Professor examines a wide array of poems and teaches readers: How to read a poem to understand its primary meaning. The different technical elements of poetry such as meter, diction, rhyme, line structures, length, order, regularity, and how to learn to see these elements as allies rather than adversaries. How to listen for a poem’s secondary meaning by paying attention to the echoes that the language of poetry summons up. How to hear the music in poems—and the poetry in songs! With How to Read Poetry Like a Professor, readers can rediscover poetry and reap its many rewards.

How to Read the Bible Like a Seminary Professor

How to Read the Bible Like a Seminary Professor

Author: Mark Yarbrough

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9781455578863

Category: Religion

Page: 304

View: 110

Many people admire and even revere the Bible, but they simply do not understand what they read, much less how to study Scripture. Yet they wish they could. In this insightful and alternately amusing guide, Professor Mark Yarbrough shows how easy and gratifying it is to unlock the hidden truths of God's Word and to discover a world where reading the Bible doesn't just satisfy our curiosity, but changes our life. To do this, the reader will step into the seminary classroom and observe the practical principles-the tricks of the trade-for becoming a more effective student of the Bible. But Yarbrough has made sure that his writing style and general approach will be appealing to both academic students and those involved in lay-level Bible study. Real life is whacky and in-your-face. Studying Scripture should be too.