How to Read Novels Like a Professor

How to Read Novels Like a Professor

Author: Thomas C. Foster

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 9780061977701

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 336

View: 657

The follow-up and companion volume to the New York Times bestselling How to Read Literature Like a Professor—a lively and entertaining guide to understanding and dissecting novels to make everyday reading more enriching, satisfying, and fun Of all the literary forms, the novel is arguably the most discussed . . . and fretted over. From Miguel de Cervantes’s Don Quixote to the works of Jane Austen, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway, and today’s masters, the novel has grown with and adapted to changing societies and technologies, mixing tradition and innovation in every age throughout history. Thomas C. Foster—the sage and scholar who ingeniously led readers through the fascinating symbolic codes of great literature in his first book, How to Read Literature Like a Professor—now examines the grammar of the popular novel. Exploring how authors’ choices about structure—point of view, narrative voice, first page, chapter construction, character emblems, and narrative (dis)continuity—create meaning and a special literary language, How to Read Novels Like a Professor shares the keys to this language with readers who want to get more insight, more understanding, and more pleasure from their reading.

Summary of Thomas C. Foster's How to Read Novels Like a Professor

Summary of Thomas C. Foster's How to Read Novels Like a Professor

Author: Milkyway Media

Publisher: Milkyway Media

ISBN:

Category: Study Aids

Page:

View: 840

Buy now to get the main key ideas from Thomas C. Foster's How to Read Novels Like a Professor When novels became a thing around the seventeenth century, it was all thrilling. It wasn't possible for readers to say, “This is unoriginal, this has been done before, this is a good or bad novel.” Every novel was an innovation. As time progressed, a framework for the conventional novel emerged: a linear narrative, stories about people growing up or falling apart, compelling characters, and definite conclusions that provide emotional satisfaction. In How to Read Novels Like a Professor (2008), Thomas C. Foster dives deep into each of these elements, using his own set of laws for the novel to help readers increase their understanding. He backs up his explanations with a wealth of vivid literary examples that will make you want to read every novel he mentions.

How to Read Literature Like a Professor

How to Read Literature Like a Professor

Author: Thomas C. Foster

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 9780061804069

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 336

View: 322

What does it mean when a fictional hero takes a journey?. Shares a meal? Gets drenched in a sudden rain shower? Often, there is much more going on in a novel or poem than is readily visible on the surface—a symbol, maybe, that remains elusive, or an unexpected twist on a character—and there's that sneaking suspicion that the deeper meaning of a literary text keeps escaping you. In this practical and amusing guide to literature, Thomas C. Foster shows how easy and gratifying it is to unlock those hidden truths, and to discover a world where a road leads to a quest; a shared meal may signify a communion; and rain, whether cleansing or destructive, is never just rain. Ranging from major themes to literary models, narrative devices, and form, How to Read Literature Like a Professor is the perfect companion for making your reading experience more enriching, satisfying, and fun.

How to Read Nonfiction Like a Professor

How to Read Nonfiction Like a Professor

Author: Thomas C. Foster

Publisher: HarperLuxe

ISBN: 0062999125

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 432

View: 594

The New York Times bestselling author of How to Read Literature Like a Professor uses the same skills to teach how to access accurate information in a rapidly changing 24/7 news cycle and become better readers, thinkers, and consumers of media. We live in an information age, but it is increasingly difficult to know which information to trust. Fake news is rampant in mass media, stoked by foreign powers wishing to disrupt a democratic society. We need to be more perceptive, more critical, and more judicious readers. The future of our republic may depend on it. How to Read Nonfiction Like a Professor is more careful, more attentive, more aware reading. On bookstore shelves, one book looks as authoritative as the next. Online, posts and memes don't announce their relative veracity. It is up to readers to establish how accurate, how thorough, how fair material may be. After laying out general principles of reading nonfiction, How to Read Nonfiction Like a Professor offers advice for specific reading strategies in various genres from histories and biographies to science and technology to social media. Throughout, the emphasis will be on understanding writers' biases, interrogating claims, analyzing arguments, remaining wary of broad assertions and easy answers, and thinking critically about the written and spoken materials readers encounter. We can become better citizens through better reading, and the time for that is now.

How to Read Literature Like a Professor: For Kids

How to Read Literature Like a Professor: For Kids

Author: Thomas C. Foster

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 9780062200877

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 176

View: 949

The go-to bestselling guide to help young people navigate from a middle school book report to English Comp 101 In How to Read Literature Like a Professor: For Kids, New York Times bestselling author and professor Thomas C. Foster gives tweens the tools they need to become thoughtful readers. With funny insights and a conversational style, he explains the way writers use symbol, metaphor, characterization, setting, plot, and other key techniques to make a story come to life. From that very first middle school book report to that first college course, kids need to be able to understand the layers of meaning in literature. Foster makes learning this important skill fun and exciting by using examples from How the Grinch Stole Christmas to The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, from short stories and poems to movie scripts. This go-to guide unlocks all the hidden secrets to reading, making it entertaining and satisfying.

Summary and Analysis of How to Read Literature Like a Professor

Summary and Analysis of How to Read Literature Like a Professor

Author: Worth Books

Publisher: Open Road Media

ISBN: 9781504043373

Category: Study Aids

Page: 30

View: 387

So much to read, so little time? This brief overview of How to Read Literature Like a Professor tells you what you need to know—before or after you read Thomas C. Foster’s book. Crafted and edited with care, Worth Books set the standard for quality and give you the tools you need to be a well-informed reader. This summary of How to Read Literature Like a Professor by Thomas C. Foster includes: Historical context Chapter-by-chapter overviews Important quotes Fascinating trivia A glossary of terms Supporting material to enhance your understanding of the original work About How to Read Literature Like a Professor by Thomas C. Foster: Thomas C. Foster’s How to Read Literature Like a Professor is a series of short essays that show readers how to “read between the lines” and make great books come alive. Based on Professor Foster’s years as a teacher of literature, Foster explains how authors use the English language to accomplish their goals and how we can recognize literary ideas in a wide range of works. The tools he offers can be applied to any book—from the classics to the latest blockbusters. The summary and analysis in this ebook are intended to complement your reading experience and bring you closer to a great work of nonfiction.

How to Read Literature Like a Professor LP

How to Read Literature Like a Professor LP

Author: Thomas C. Foster

Publisher: HarperLuxe

ISBN: 006232652X

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 496

View: 506

Thomas C. Foster's classic guide—a lively and entertaining introduction to literature and literary basics, including symbols, themes, and contexts—shows you how to make your everyday reading experience more rewarding and enjoyable. How to Read Literature Like a Professor helps readers discover the deeper meanings of novels, poems, and plays by looking at literature with the eyes—and literary codes—of the ultimate professional reader: the college professor. This revised and updated edition contains new chapters, new preface and epilogue, and updated teaching points developed over the last decade. What does it mean when a literary hero travels along a dusty road? When he's drenched in a sudden rain shower? Ranging from major themes to literary models, narrative devices, and form, Foster provides us with a broad overview of literature—a world where a road leads to a quest and rain, whether cleansing or destructive, is never just a shower—and shows us how to make our reading experience more enriching, satisfying, and fun.

Shakespeare Would Cry

Shakespeare Would Cry

Author: Jack Ifing

Publisher: Lennex

ISBN: 5458838793

Category:

Page: 46

View: 297

In this book, we have hand-picked the most sophisticated, unanticipated, absorbing (if not at times crackpot!), original and musing book reviews of "How to Read Novels Like a Professor: A Jaunty Exploration of the World's Favorite Literary Form." Don't say we didn't warn you: these reviews are known to shock with their unconventionality or intimacy. Some may be startled by their biting sincerity; others may be spellbound by their unbridled flights of fantasy. Don't buy this book if: 1. You don't have nerves of steel. 2. You expect to get pregnant in the next five minutes. 3. You've heard it all.

How to Write Like a Writer

How to Write Like a Writer

Author: Thomas C. Foster

Publisher: Harper Perennial

ISBN: 0063139413

Category:

Page: 320

View: 768

The New York Times bestselling author of the beloved classic How to Read Literature Like a Professor teaches you how to write everything from a report for your community association to a meaningful memoir in this masterful and engaging guide. Combing anecdotes and hard-won lessons from decades of teaching and writing--and invoking everyone from Hemingway to your third-grade teacher--retired professor Thomas C. Foster guides you through the basics of writing. With How to Write Like a Writer you'll learn how to organize your thoughts, construct first drafts, and (not incidentally) keep you in your chair so that inspiration can come to visit. With warmth and wit, Foster shows you how to get into (and over) your best self, how to find your voice, and how to know when, if ever, a piece of work is done. Packed with enlightening anecdotes, highlighted with lists and bullet points, this invaluable guide reveals how writers work their magic, and reminds us that we all--for better or worse, whether we mean to or not--are known by what we put on paper or screen, both our thoughts and our words.