Jews and Judaism in The New York Times

Jews and Judaism in The New York Times

Author: Christopher Vecsey, Ph.D

Publisher: Lexington Books

ISBN: 9780739184707

Category: Social Science

Page: 440

View: 804

Jews and Judaism have been profoundly affected by the horrific course of the Holocaust, and by the formation of Israel as a Jewish nation-state. These have been the major themes in the Times' treatment of Judaism, in thousands of articles, from the 1970s to the present.

The New York Times Book Review

The New York Times Book Review

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: IND:30000114373248

Category: Books

Page:

View: 573

Presents extended reviews of noteworthy books, short reviews, essays and articles on topics and trends in publishing, literature, culture and the arts. Includes lists of best sellers (hardcover and paperback).

The New York Times Theater Reviews 1997-1998

The New York Times Theater Reviews 1997-1998

Author: Times Times Books

Publisher: Psychology Press

ISBN: 0815333412

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 520

View: 498

This anthology examines Love's Labours Lost from a variety of perspectives and through a wide range of materials. Selections discuss the play in terms of historical context, dating, and sources; character analysis; comic elements and verbal conceits; evidence of authorship; performance analysis; and feminist interpretations. Alongside theater reviews, production photographs, and critical commentary, the volume also includes essays written by practicing theater artists who have worked on the play. An index by name, literary work, and concept rounds out this valuable resource.

The New York Times Film Reviews 1999-2000

The New York Times Film Reviews 1999-2000

Author: New York Times Theater Reviews

Publisher: Taylor & Francis

ISBN: 0415936969

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 700

View: 780

From the Oscar-winning blockbustersAmerican BeautyandShakespeare in Loveto Sundance oddities likeAmerican MovieandThe Tao of Steve, to foreign films such asAll About My Mother, the latest volume in this popular series features a chronological collection of facsimiles of every film review and awards article published inThe New York Timesbetween January 1999 and December 2000. Includes a full index of personal names, titles, and corporate names. This collection is an invaluable resource for all libraries.

Finish the Fight!

Finish the Fight!

Author: Veronica Chambers

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 9780358407829

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 147

View: 754

A New York Times bestseller! Who was at the forefront of women's right to vote? We know a few famous names, like Susan B. Anthony and Elizabeth Cady Stanton, but what about so many others from diverse backgrounds—black, Asian, Latinx, Native American, and more—who helped lead the fight for suffrage? On the hundredth anniversary of the historic win for women's rights, it's time to celebrate the names and stories of the women whose stories have yet to be told. Gorgeous portraits accompany biographies of such fierce but forgotten women as Yankton Dakota Sioux writer and advocate Zitkála-Šá, Mary Eliza Church Terrell, who cofounded the National Association of Colored Women (NACW), and Mabel Ping-Hua Lee, who, at just sixteen years old, helped lead the biggest parade in history to promote the cause of suffrage. FINISH THE FIGHT will fit alongside important collections that tell the full story of America's fiercest women. Perfect for fans of GOOD NIGHT STORIES FOR REBEL GIRLS and BAD GIRLS THROUGHOUT HISTORY.

Esperanto in The New York Times (1887 - 1922)

Esperanto in The New York Times (1887 - 1922)

Author: Ulrich Becker

Publisher: Mondial

ISBN: 9781595691699

Category: History

Page: 273

View: 768

This book is a look back at the beginnings of the Esperanto movement in the US and beyond, opening a window into contemporaneous accounts on the pages of a world-renowned newspaper. -- Some of the articles in this collection reflect aspects of the history of the Esperanto movement quite vividly; in others, we find odd anecdotes about Esperanto and the Esperantists; and many passionately-written letters from readers illustrate the ups and downs, the successes and conflicts of the Esperanto community, as well as its disputes with the skeptics outside their ranks. -- These first 35 years of the history of Esperanto seen from the vantage point of theNew York Timesshow how Esperanto gradually became established in the US and in the world, carried on the high hopes of its early, idealistic proponents. -- The book is supplemented by an appendix containing an index of the names of persons mentioned in the newspaper articles, a short bibliography, and a collection of links to reliable information on Esperanto on the Internet."

The Troubles of Journalism

The Troubles of Journalism

Author: William A. Hachten

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 9781135607906

Category: Social Science

Page: 200

View: 827

This book looks at criticisms of the journalism profession and evaluates many of the changes in journalism--both positive and negative. In addition, it suggests what the many changes mean for this nation and indeed for the world at large, as American journalism--its methods and standards--has markedly influenced the way many millions overseas receive news and view their world. Based on author William Hachten's 50-year involvement with newspapers and journalism education, The Troubles of Journalism serves as a realistic examination of the profession, and is appropriate for upper-level undergraduate courses in journalism and media criticism. Since the previous edition of The Troubles of Journalism, many significant challenges have occurred in the media: the events of September 11, the war on terrorism, mergers and consolidation of media ownership, new concerns about press credibility, the expanding and controversial role of cable news channels, the growing impact role of news and comment on the Internet, and continuing globalization and controversy over the role of American media in international communications. To do justice to these recent "troubles" of the news media, important additions and modifications have been made in every chapter of this Third Edition.

Paul Auster's "The New York Trilogy" as Postmodern Detective Fiction

Paul Auster's

Author: Matthias Kugler

Publisher: diplom.de

ISBN: 9783832418526

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 164

View: 164

Inhaltsangabe:Abstract: Paul Auster's New York Trilogy, published in one volume for the first time in England in 1988 and in the U.S. in 1990 has been widely categorised as detective fiction among literary scholars and critics. There is, however, a striking diversity and lack of consensus regarding the classification of the trilogy within the existing genre forms of the detective novel. Among others, Auster's stories are described as: metaanti-detective-fiction; mysteries about mysteries; a strangely humorous working of the detective novel; very soft-boiled; a metamystery; glassy little jigsaws; a mixture between the detective story and the nouveau roman; a metaphysical detective story; a deconstruction of the detective novel; antidetective-fiction; a late example of the anti-detective genre; and being related to 'hard-boiled' novels by authors like Hammett and Chandler. Such a striking lack of agreement within the secondary literature has inspired me to write this paper. It does not, however, elaborate further an this diversity of viewpoints although they all seem to have a certain validity and underline the richness and diversity of Auster's detective trilogy; neither do I intend to coin a new term for Auster's detective fiction. I would rather place The New York Trilogy within a more general and open literary form, namely postmodern detective fiction. This classifies Paul Auster as an American writer who is part of the generation that immediately followed the 'classical literary movement' of American postmodernism' of the 60s and 70s. His writing demonstrates that he has been influenced by the revolutionary and innovative postmodern concepts, characterised by the notion of 'anything goes an a planet of multiplicity' as well as by French poststructuralism. He may, however, be distinguished from a 'traditional' postmodern writer through a certain coherence in the narrative discourse, a neo-realistic approach and by showing a certain responsibility for social and moral aspects going beyond mere metafictional and subversive elements. Many of the ideas of postmodernism were formulated in theoretical literary texts of the 60s and 70s and based an formal experiments include the attempt of subverting the ability of language to refer truthfully to the world, and a radical turning away from coherent narrative discourse and plot. These ideas seem to have been intemalized by the new generation of postmodern writers of the 80s to such [...]

New York Magazine

New York Magazine

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 184

View: 553

New York magazine was born in 1968 after a run as an insert of the New York Herald Tribune and quickly made a place for itself as the trusted resource for readers across the country. With award-winning writing and photography covering everything from politics and food to theater and fashion, the magazine's consistent mission has been to reflect back to its audience the energy and excitement of the city itself, while celebrating New York as both a place and an idea.